For Inquiries Contact » +255-27-970-430

African Court on Human and Peoples’rights elects Justice Sylvain Oré (Côte d’Ivoire) as President and Justice Ben Kioko (Kenya) Vice-President

Friday, 23 September 2016 06:36

•Arusha, 6 September, 2016: The African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (AfCHPR) started its 42nd Ordinary Session yesterday at its seat in Arusha, the United Republic of Tanzania, with the election of a new bureau for a period of two years.


Hon.Justice Sylvain Oré from Côte d’Ivoire has been elected President to succeed Hon. Judge Augustino Ramadhani (Tanzania) and Hon. Justice Ben Kioko from Kenya was elected Vice President to succeed Hon. Lady Justice Elsie Thompson (Nigeria).

The term of office of other two judges that is Hon. Justice Fatsah Ouguergouz (Algeria) and Hon. Justice Duncan Tambala (Malawi) came to an end on 5 September, 2016.

The session also swore-in two newly elected Judges – Hon. Lady Justice Ntyam Ondo Mengue from Cameroon and Hon.Lady Justice Marie Thérése Mukamulisa from Rwanda.

The Judges during the session, among others, will examine about 70 applications and four requests for Advisory Opinions.


1.The Court is composed of eleven judges, nationals of Member States of the African Union elected in their individual capacity. The President and Vice President are elected for a term of two years and are eligible to be re-elected for another final term of two years.

2.The Court meets four times a year in Ordinary Sessions and may hold Extra-Ordinary Sessions.
Further information can be obtained from the Court’s website at

Last modified on Friday, 23 September 2016 06:49
Read 2770 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)


General Information
Phone:+255-27 2970430

Physical Address
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
Mwalimu Julius Nyerere Conservation Centre
Dodoma Road
P.O. Box 6274 Arusha, TANZANIA